Yesterday, my son shared a video with me. In the film, a siren sounds and every person in the city stops what they were doing and stands in complete, reverent silence. As I watched, I was in awe of the power of the silence itself. Somehow it magnified the greatness of each person there as they joined together in a united, dedicated moment.

I was reminded of a time when I was a young girl, listening to some adults argue over religious and political ideas while they were drinking — something they’d do almost every weekend. As always, the words went round and round and no one gained any insight or wisdom from the exchange. I was intensely aware of how unhappy all of these adults were. They all lived lives doing work that they did not enjoy, fulfilling obligations that made them resentful, and drinking whenever they could to numb themselves from their reality.

I remember asking why we all don’t just stop doing anything until we figure out why we’re here.  All of us. Everyone in the world. Just stop and listen for an answer. Of course, the adults found this idea  silly and impractical.

But the vision  of a silent, reflective humanity stayed in my mind from that day. And, yesterday, watching that video, my vision expanded to a silent, focused humanity…setting clear intention for the world we want to create together.

Perhaps this video will inspire you, too.

There is a city…

Once a year on august 1st, the people of Warsaw pay hommage to the fallen heroes that fought for freedom in 1944 during the Warsaw Uprising. The biggest rebellion against German Nazi occupation during WWII cost over 200 000 lives and destruction of the capital.